"What is mercy? Does it taste like marrow?" - Phage, Tyranid Hive Mind

Home Page - Gaming - Warhammer 40,000 - Tyranids - Rules

Tyranid Rules

This is an attempt to summarize and clarify what is in the Codex, Main Book, White Dwarf, and errata. I will try to format these rules comments in the order the topics appear in the main book.

Common Misconceptions

  • Hive Nodes are not Synapse Creatures.
  • Hive Nodes confer Ld 10 to the whole brood, as opposed to simply being a Ld 10 leader so every model in the brood gets Ld 10 if a Hive Node present.
  • Bio-Acid mines have to roll for direction when they detonate.
  • Bio-Acid mines point at the nearest enemy model when a HIT is rolled for detonation direction; point it at the center of the model.
  • Biovores have to roll for Instinctive Behavior when out of Synapse, as do Zoanthrope without the Synapse Hive Mind Power


Tyranids and the 4th Edition Rules

The 4th edition rules are out and there are some consequences for the Tyranids. Follow this link to the Chapter Approved site for the 4.0 FAQs so you can download the latest PDF.

Comments on the 4.0 FAQ for Codex Tyranids

  • Shoot the Big Ones has not gone away. What is different now is that other armies may start to...enjoy a similar lack of screening from their units. Also, Synapse creatures and other creatures within Synapse range automatically pass "Target Priority rolls".
  • "Tyranid Monstrous Creatures follow the rules for Monstrous Creatures in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook as well as those stated in the Codex: Tyranids..." Hmm, currently, the TAR conflicts with the Codex rules for TMCs and 4.0 is supposed to incorporate TAR. Here's hoping that is not a conflict when 4.0 comes out.
  • Instinctive Behavior results of "Attack!" that do not result in contact with the enemy leave the brood in a state of fallback, so they can still be charged and removed from play if they are charged by an enemy and fail a Leadership test.
  • The much needed clarification that close combat symbiotes work whenever a model is eligible to make close combat attacks has been made. They can.
  • Lash Whips work whenever the model is eligible to make close combat attacks. I am not sure how that woks, since they are defined as affecting models in base contact. I suppose that means that any eligible close combat target is affected, which increase the utility of Lash Whips somewhat.
  • As of 2004.08.29, the FAQ's wording on "clarification" of Tyranid Monstrous Creature (TMC) Rending Claws (RC) vs. Armor is unfortunate. Against vehicles, the AP roll is what matters, not the to hit roll. This may be indicative of a new overall mechanic for RC (none was given in the FAQ), but is that is true, then I wonder what happens with an automatic hit (e.g. stationary vehicles), do you roll to hit anyway to determine Rending? Does it automatically rend? Time will tell.
  • Leaping now confers attacks to models out to 4" from the models in base contact with the enemy. While that seems like a cool thing, I rarely had a problem fitting my gaunts into the 2" range. I hope the cost goes down or there is another improvement to Leaping in the 4.0 Codex Tyranids. Why don't I think it's impressive? Let's consider the worst case scenario, crowding around the smallest possible unit, a single model on a 1" base. It turns out that you can get 36 models around that and still fit within 2" from engaged models, see image below:

Comments on the New Vehicle Rules (from Black Gobbo 21)

  • Venom Strangler? AP "-" cannot cause penetrating hits in 4.0, and the BS has AP "-". So, the Barbed Strangler will, like the Venom Cannon, only causes Glancing Hits against vehicles.
  • Invulnerable Dreadnoughts! If you are tired of having to worry about bringing anti-vehicle weaponry, well it just got worse. Apparently, Dreadnoughts were not amazing enough. First, an AV of 12 or higher makes the model count as 10 models for the purpose of outnumbering (this becomes important soon, wait for it). In 4.0, vehicles of the Walker class (e.g. Dreadnoughts) always use their front Armor Value in close combat. There is some rule for them suffering an automatic Glancing Hit if they lose the combat and are outnumbered 2:1 (or more), but that seems somewhat moot when typical swarm models can't hurt AV 12. Combine that with the fact that the Dreadnought will count as 10 models, and get right back to the highly enjoyable scenario of watching a Dreadnought futilely wrestle a unit of gaunts for the entire game. Although they have made grenades useful against Walkers...but Tyranids don't have grenades. Perhaps it's time to start adding some Rending Claw Weapons Beasts to the gaunt hordes...of course, you would still need to roll high even if Rending kicked in. The morale of the story, try to get a monster on that Dread, preferably accompanied by a swarm; that duo should make short work of him.
  • "5" is "Immobilized": For those with the vehicle damage charts burned into their minds, "4" and "5" have swapped places. "4" is now weapon destroyed and "5" is now "Immobilized". Given the deleterious effects on skimmers and the general sense that higher rolls are more dramatic, it makes sense.
  • Slow Skimmers just drop: Immobilization no longer automatically destroys a Skimmer if it moved 6" or less.
  • No more "lost" vehicle damage! In third edition, "Weapon destroyed" and "Immobilized" had no effects after all weapons were destroyed or the vehicle was immobilized, respectively. Now, excess weapon destroyed results will cause immobilization and excess immobilization results cause weapon destroyed. Note: once a vehicle is immobilized and has no weapons of S4 or higher, a result of weapon destroyed or immobilized will destroy it.
  • More obedient food: When a vehicle takes a penetrating hit, all of the occupants must bail out and make a Pinning test. When a vehicle is destroyed, the surviving occupants that bail out are "Entangled" (basically, it's just like Pinning, but it affects everyone, there is no test to avoid it).
  • No more Leaping-esque Assaults by Space Marines: A unit inside a vehicle can only assault in three cases - 1) from a Land Raider, 2) from an open-topped vehicle, 3) or if the vehicle has not moved. Which is to say that unless you are riding in a Land Raider or open-topped vehicle, you cannot assault from a vehicle that has moved that turn. What you *can* do is move, disembark, shoot, then wait for the next turn to assault. Sounds pretty reasonable and it does speak well to the fluff of a Land Raider.


Codex-Specific Information

Instinctive Behavior - what happens

Based upon what the online Chapter Approved FAQs say...

  1. If IB roll is failed, roll on the table in the Codex and follow the instructions. If you fall back from close combat, the enemy has the normal assault options available as though you had fallen back normally.
  2. The unit suffers IB until they have a chance to regroup with a Ld test at the start of the next movement phase. This means that the roll for IB in the next turn is skipped for the unit in question.
  3. Regroup - If the unit regroups, it acts normally, if not, it continues to apply the same IB result rolled previously. if the unit is not eligible to regroup (e.g. below half strength), it will be stuck in its IB state until/if it reaches Synapse.

Hive Mind Powers

Hive Mind Powers Do Not Preclude the Use of Other Hive Mind Powers

If you read the Codex Tyranids, you will find that the Hive Mind Powers have been written in such a way that Tyranid Psykers can use all Hive Mind Powers in one turn. Does this violate the rules? No, it does not because of the way in which the powers are defined. All of the Hive Mind Powers except Catalyst are defined as functioning continuously, even the Warp Blast (weird as that seems). So a Hive Tyrant could conceivably buy every Hive Mind Power and effectively use them all in a given turn because only one needs to be turned on, Catalyst. Of course, if you use a ranged biomorph to shoot something, you could not also use Warp Blast, but that is a Shooting phase constraint, not a Psychic Power constraint.

What about focused Warp Blast? While there is a reasonable point of contention there because you have to make a Psychic Test, the power is still described as being continuously functioning and the fluff explains that the reason for the Psychic Test is to simply reflect the peril of "frying its brains".

Hive Mind Powers Are Not Biomorphs and Thus Do Not Count Against Biomorph Limit

  • Biomorphs have a limit, listed at the beginning of the description of the various species.
  • Bio-weapons have a limit, listed in parenthesis next to the list of bio-weapons.
  • They are mutually exclusive limits, e.g., see the "Razorfex" on page 40, 5 biomorphs and 2 bio-weapons. If Biomorphs included weapons, that combo would not be possible.

The CA Q&A reinforces it:

"Q. Are Hive Mind powers counted in the overall number of biomorphs for
design-your-own bugs which they can have them?
A. Hive Mind powers don’t count towards biomorphs."

- online PDF; or CA2003, pg. 83

Tyrant Guard

You Cannot Take Them Without At Least One Hive Tyrant In Your List

"Q. Can I take Tyrant Guard as an HQ choice without taking a Hive Tyrant?
A. No."

- Tyranid Chapter Approved PDF, v 2.0, Revised (not available anymore)
- Chapter Approved 2004, pg. 98, second-to-last question on that page.

But we have to remember that the Codex: Tyranids entry for Hive Tyrant tells us that we can take a lone brood as our second HQ choice.

Therefore, the following TG combos are legal:

  • HQ 1: HT & TG; HQ 2: nothing
  • HQ 1: HT & TG; HQ 2: HT & TG
  • HQ 1: HT & TG; HQ 2: TG*

* - Note: this is the only way to field a lone brood of TG. While that may make a Carnifex happy, don't forget, the lone TG brood cannot protect the Carnifex until AFTER the Tyranid move phase, when they can join the Carnifex unit. Morale of the story, keep the Carnifex behind some cover during setup. ;)

Biovores & Spore Mines

Read These Things First

  • Main Book, pg. 58, Barrage Weapons
  • Main Book, pg. 86, third paragraph (Barrage weapons hitting vehicles)
  • Main Book, pg. 194, the description of Biovores (see what they used to do)
  • Codex Tyranids, pp. 6-7, Spore Mines
  • Codex Tyranids, pg. 16, Biovores

How do Biovores Shoot?

  1. Pick a spot without measuring range. This can be on top of a model (see discussion below)
  2. Put your mine there, or just agree where it is for the safety of minis, e.g. "I am targeting the top of that guy's head."
  3. Adjust for range (you can skip this if the mine is obviously within 48")
    1. Measure 48"
    2. If you are too far, pull the mine back along the trajectory you shot it until it is at 48" from the Biovore.
    3. If you are within 48", then leave it there.
  4. Determine scatter.
    1. Roll a scatter die and 2d6.
    2. Make sure the scatter die ends up as close to the mine as possible, this reduces arguments over how well you scatter the mine along the direction indicated.
    3. If you rolled a HIT, then the model is where you placed it and if that is in contact with a model, then the mine detonates (see below)
    4. If you rolled an arrow, then relocate the target spot as with any other normal indirect fire weapon and place the mine there, irrespective of intervening models, fortifications, etc. Do not touch the scatter die until you are finished.
  5. Did it detonate?
    1. If the mine is now in contact with a model, it detonates.
    2. If the mine does not hit a model, then it sits there and scares people until it gets killed or it moves again (start of Tyranid turn).

Reminder - Bio-Acid Mine Detonation

The Codex explains this well, but the Bio-Acid seems to be a problem for people. When Bio-Acid detonates, you roll a scatter die to determine where it points. Many folks assume that if you roll a HIT, you get to choose, but that is not true. If you roll a hit, it points at the nearest model. When that model is a vehicle, I rule that it points at the center of the vehicle; that is not said in print anywhere, but no one has disagreed with it yet, and it makes the arc determinations easier and less prone to abuse. Besides, when you point at something, it only makes sense to point it at the center.

Reminder - Biovores are not Fearless

Biovores will have to test for Instinctive Behavior if they are out of range of Synapse. It's usually not a big deal in practice, but it can mean being deprived of a shot or two during the game. I don't know if anyone tries to compensate with a dedicated Synapse, but maybe a Heavy Support Warrior squad would be good in that role.

Reminder - Biovores are Heavy 1!

Biovores, unlike every other Tyranid unit in the codex, are Heavy 1. This means they get one measly shot and, unlike the rest of their brethren, they cannot move and shoot. Don't forget that. Their rate of fire is so small that missing a single shot can be damaging, especially since they are on the field only to shoot their weapon. They can't capture quarters and they aren't very useful in Assault, so put somewhere they can stay safely and just shoot!

What About Night Fight?

Night Fight does not affect Biovores. Why should it? They are neither direct fire nor Guess weapons. Read Cityfight to help you form your own intuition on this topic. Also consider that 2d6 is quite a lot of scatter anyway.

Can You Assault Spore Mines?

It may seem a little odd to some, but it perfectly valid within the current rules. Hopefully, you will be able to place your mines so they detonate. However, if you are trying to be crafty and discourage units from marching through an area, then keep this potential free move in mind; if they have something that is relatively safe from damage from the mine in question. They may assault it to detonate it harmlessly and get a free move.

Spore Mines vs. Bunkers

Oh, I have a plan, but I can't find solid rules on this. I am waiting to post my solution for the moment

Can Biovores Land on Top of Models?

A reasonable answer would be - why not? Other indirect fire can be placed on top of a vehicle, and spore mines can scatter on top of a vehicle when initially fired. Therefore, they should be able to target the top of a vehicle intentionally. To help you judge for yourself, read about how barrage weapons work in the "Weapons" chapter. Realize that we are simply using a spore mine in lieu of a blast marker because a spore mine does not necessarily detonate.

What about vehicles? "In the case of a barrage weapon the shot is assumed to come from where the Blast marker landed." [Pg. 86, main book]. So I take this to mean that the origin of the blast, the spore mine is taken as the source of the shot. So draw a line between the spore mine and the vehicle center and you will have the answer as to what armor to use.

But doesn't it say anywhere "on the table"? Yes, it does, but that's an expansion of it's abilities, not a constraint. They don't literally mean table, if so, then a lot of terrain would be out of bounds. You see, unlike other barrage weapons, we can fire a mine at empty ground in case we wish to discourage travel in a choke point, to get a unit of Heavy weapons guys to move for a round instead of shooting, or to make a wooded area a little more dangerous to inhabit. So, they point out that you can place the mine anywhere on the table, unlike normal barrage weapons which must target a unit.

It is a very effective tactic to place Bio-Acid mines on top of the rear quadrant of a vehicle; if they do not scatter, they will hit the rear of the vehicle regardless of which way the flamer template points. With their 2d6 scatter, it's almost necessary to get your value from them.

Ultimately, you will get less whining if you do not place a mine on top of a vehicle. Why? Because it is such an effective tactic when it works.

Scatter vs. Drift - The Implications of the Two Approaches

The literal wording of the Biovore rules can be taken to mean that you place the mine on the table, then move it along the table, drifting, along the path determined by the scatter die, rather than the classical scatter method of completely relocating the impact point (see the discussion above). This is not the generally accepted way, but here are some implications to consider and it may help you understand things better.

If you were to treat the scatter as drift, then:

  1. you probably should take it literally when the rules say place the mine on the table, and not place it on top of vehicles or models.
  2. if you rolled an arrow on the scatter die, you should then move the mine along that direction a number of inches equal to the number rolled on the dice, stopping if you hit a model, at which point the mine would detonate

This would result in mines more frequently blowing up when they are fired and moreso in the general area of the original target spot. However, to be consistent with this notion of mines scooting along the ground and blowing the minute they touch something, you should probably not place the mines on top of vehicles. They would blow up right away.

A summary of the two possible interpretations:

Classical Scatter (accepted) Scatter as Drift (not accepted)
- You should be able to place a mine on top of a model. -You should take the literal statement "on the table" and not place a mine on top of a model, because it would normally slide into something and detonate
- Scatter works like other indirect fire weapons, so the intervening models, fortifications, etc. are insignificant. - You move the mine along the table when scattering, so anything impacted during movement detonates the mine.

Are Bio-Acid Mines Much More Effective If You Use Scatter over Drift?

It really comes down to the efficacy of Bio-Acid in the end, as that is the main vehicle killer against Marines. If it becomes a model in targeting, then it is more likely to detonate at the desired point on the vehicle as a scatter result has a 50% chance of pushing the mine into the vehicle facing it is sitting on and HIT always works, so you have a 2/3 chance of detonating where you want. However, there is a ~1/3 chance the Bio-Acid will point the wrong way (HIT 1/3, random 2/3 x 50% point at vehicle facing). So it's a 2/9 chance of hitting the desired facing. If you go with classical scatter, you end up with more like a 3/9 chance. Effectwise, a minimal difference.

However, the benefits reaped by a drift-like scatter movement more than offset this. The drift-like scatter would make the Biovores more effective in general.

Ultimately, the approach that demands that the mine be placed on the table but not on a model would result in a strange situation - artillery lobbing mines overhead but never actually hitting anyone in the head. Seems a little too odd, even for 40k.


  • Choose exactly 1 psychic power (in addition to the requisite Warp Field), no more, no less.

Mutant Creatures - Spore Mines Are Not Ranged Bio-weapon Symbiotes

Some folks wonder if they can take a Weapons-beast mutation to get more spore mines. You can't. There are two choices - close combat bio-weapon or ranged bio-weapon; these are listed and defined on pp. 8-9 of the Codex. Spore Mines are not among those listed because the special ability to store and launch spore mines is an ability of a Biovore, not a standard ranged bio-weapon symbiote. Besides, being able to rain down that many templates would be silly and determining the proper cost would be difficult. Just buy Biovores and be content with that. :)

Tyranid-related Clarifications Relevant to the Main Rule Book

Characteristics (of armies)

How do the mighty swarms compare with their food? I recommend buying the codex so that you can help your friend remember the correct rules. :-) Honestly, though, it feels wrong when someone surprises you with a game mechanic, especially if it costs you the game; it's just no very sporting. Unfortunately there are plenty of folks like that in gaming.

  • Space Marines - They will have vehicles and far too many guys with Sv 3+ or better. Because all but the heroes of a Marine army will have Initiative 4, I5 can be very much worth the investment. You absolutely have to be aware of Sweeping Advance rules and the special marine rule And They Shall Know No Fear; otherwise you could have a fatal surprise.
    • Blood Angels - In 3rd edition, these guys are generally considered broken. One of their key advantages is a +1 to S and +1 to I on the round they charge. Depriving them of the opportunity to charge is your best bet. Note that they have the absurd ability to travel 18" in a Rhino with overcharged engines and still disembark.
  • Dark Eldar - They have a freakishly high level of mobility. They hit fast and hard, but they are very fragile. Their vehicles are open-topped and lightly armored. Monsters with Venom Cannons and Biovores with Poison Spore Mines (auto Glancing hit on open-topped vehicles) are good ideas.
  • Eldar - The Eldar have the reputation of being the cheesiest army. They have a ridiculous amount of firepower, so getting into Assault fast is advisable. With a Crystal Targeting Matrix, they can hide a vehicle behind cover and pop-up to shoot, so a Biovore with Bio-Acid and/or Poison might be useful. Provided they actually field Troops on the ground, with the prevalence of 4+ and 5+ Saves, Poison mines can be excellent. However, be prepared to pop vehicles left and right. Wave Serpents and Falcons are very effective, combining the best abilities of all vehicle types. Monsters with Venom Cannons will be useful, especially a Hive Tyrant with Enhanced Senses and Toxin Sacs (that gives him three shots at S 8 with BS 4, trumping the force field on a Wave Serpent that reduces the S of the attack to 8). Also, remember that Wave Serpent force fields do not protect to the rear of the vehicle and make sure that your opponent deploys his troops from the rear, as he is supposed to; this may encourage him to face the rear of the Wave Serpent towards you and offer greater opportunities for your Carnifex's Venom Cannon. :-)
  • Chaos Marines - Basically the same deal as Marines, although you can run these guys down when they Fallback.
  • Imperial Guard -
  • Orks - I found that I 5 was especially effective with these guys, because even with the power of the Waaugh! I was able to cut them down before they could attack. A large unit of S4 I5 Leapers can really do some damage. Biovores with Poison Spore Mines are also useful as they have a lot of poor Saves and open-topped vehicles.
  • Sisters of Battle -


Tyranid armies are generally not vehicle-based. There were vehicles made by Armorcast until they lost their license in October of 1998.

Movement Phase

Don't forget the fast and deadly rule from the Codex Tyranids for moving through difficult or impassable terrain. Pay special attention to the fact that TMCs can re-roll, and broods with 8 or more models take a wound if they roll two 6's.

The Shooting Phase

Gargoyles and Gaunts get a bonus 1d6 movement if they do not shoot and, no, they don't have to take all of it.

Screening - With the Codex release came the "Shoot the Big Ones!" rule that allows your opponent to target any Tyranids unit regardless of intervening Tyranids units. The only limits on targeting a specific unit or Monstrous creature is to have Tyrant Guards escorting the Monstrous creature. This applies to any Monstrous Creature, including a Carnifex.


Remember that the strength of a weapon used by a Tyranid is based upon the individual model's strength.

Important note: Biovores are no longer Guess weapons. Put the mine wherever you want within the 48" and roll scatter. That's it! Of course, a 2d6 scatter is nothing to sneeze at.

All Tyranid weapons are Assault except for the Biovores, which are Heavy 1.


Contributing attacks - you do not get special weapons such as Rending Claws with this. That's why many folks call it "throwing rocks".

Attacks & Leaping - Don't forget that instead of one contributing attack, Leaping units get their full set of Close Combat attacks and this includes special attacks, such as Rending.

Attacks & Bio-Plasma Attack - Don't forget that this attack is in addition to the other Close Combat attacks, is performed at double the unit's Initiative, has a 4+ chance to hit regardless of skills (or if the target is a skimmer), and has S = (unit S) + 1.

Targeting Hive Node Mutants - A Hive Node can not be singled out from its brood anymore than any other model. So it is as protected as a Heavy Weapon model is within a unit.


Don't forget to use Instinctive Behavior rules for Tyranid units that are outside of the range of a Synapse Creature and are not Synapse Creatures (Hive Tyrant, Warrior, some Zoanthropes), Independent (Lictor), Monstrous (Hive Tyrant, Carnifex, Red Terror, Old One Eye), or have Brood Telepathy (Genestealer).

Clarification - Under synapse control, Morale checks and Pinning checks are automatically successful. The unit, including Synapse creatures, never has to fall back (I cannot stress that statement enough!) even if there is normally no save. If a unit outside of Synapse fell back into Synapse, it would still move the amount rolled. It cannot benefit from the automatic regroup success until it would normally have a chance to roll.


Monsters joining units - There is no reason to bother with this in the one exception of Monstrous creatures joining a unit of Tyrant Guards to overcome the "Shoot the Big Ones" limitation and avoid being individually targeted by the enemy. Some folks join TMCs to gaunts to "slingshot" them into assault, but that spoils the movement of the "slingshot" unit and makes the opponent a little leery that you might be using "cheesy" tactics.

Note that TMCs with Tyrant Guard are not Independent Characters with a retinue. Rather, the broods are distinct and separate regardless. As such, TMCs can leave or join Tyrant Guard at any time. They can also continue to target a different unit than their guard just as if they had joined any other brood.


Tyranid armies are generally not vehicle-based. There were vehicles made by Armorcast until they lost their license in October of 1998.

Jump Pack Troops

Gargoyles are similar, but there is a special difference. Gargoyles move like jump pack troops, but they are removed as casualties automatically if they enter difficult or impassable terrain, there is no roll; for multi-wound creatures, it simply inflicts one automatic wound. If they don't shoot, they can squeeze out another d6" of movement during the shooting phase. Finally they have Deep Strike capability. According to the GW Roolzboyz they are in fact like Jump Pack Troops still in that they are basically used to make wing-assisted hops, so when the rules say they cannot enter difficult terrain without taking an automatic wound, they mean ending movement there, in effect landing. So you can still fly over it, just don't land in it.

Deep Striking With More than 10 Gargoyles is Now Feasible

It used to be that Gargoyles were really not able to use their Deep Strike because the rules required all models to fit under the Ordnance template. The latest online FAQ for Rulebook clarifications expands on this and finally allows more reasonable brood sizes (recall the range is 8-32) to deep strike:

"2. When placing Deep Striking or Summoned models on the large ordnance template it is permissible to overlap bases by the minimum needed to fit the unit onto the template. Players must make every effort to fit models onto the template however congested they become. Sometimes however it may even be necessary (as a last resort) to place models beyond the edge of the template if the unit is particularly large. Under no circumstances should a player use this facility to get within shooting or charge range of a unit that would not otherwise be in reach and so they may only shoot or assault (if summoned, deep striking troops cannot assault) enemy units that can be reached by measuring from the edge of the template."

Winged Tyranids Rules Clarifications

  • Winged Tyranids basically make wing assisted hops. They fly for short distances and can fly over difficult terrain in this fashion. It is landing in difficult terrain that causes the automatic wound (which results in a casualty for single wound models like Gargoyles).
  • Trees/Jungle - Their ability to ignore trees/jungles is uncertain from the Q&A thus far. It appears to that they cannot.
  • Forced into Difficult Terrain - Here are some confirmed examples that cause this problem:
    • Fall Back moves
    • Deep Strike Scatter
    • Callidus Assassin "Word in Your Ear"
  • Impassible Terrain - Generally cannot ignore it, but you can agree with your opponent to exceptions, such as passing "impassable" bunker walls to attack units on a rooftop.

Why Take Winged Tyranids?

I have not heavily explored this yet, but here's one obvious note:

Synapse Creatures Make the Best Use of Wings!

It's true. They can fly ahead and keep the Synapse strong as your Leaping Gaunts take off like a shot after food, or follow your Gargoyles as they zoom ahead on their own wings.


There are no Tyranid Cavalry. Tyranids with the Leaper mutation have cavalry-like movement, but are not officially cavalry. For example, in Cityfight, true Cavalry have limitations about entering buildings..


There are no Tyranid bikes. Remember with the Red Terror that the +1 Toughness for Bike troops will not affect the Toughness value for Swallow Whole.

Last updated 2004-08-30